Arizona State Sun Devils Men’s Hoops History Update

ASU has made 16 NCAA Tournament appearances along with three Elite Eights

Posted on April 12, 2024

  By SuperWest Sports Staff

In this series of updates on the history of SuperWest men’s hoops program, we provide a brief coaching summary, a list of the current coaches, along with postseason results, conference titles, award winners, and all-time coaching records.

Arizona State began playing intercollegiate basketball in 1911 under C.W. Adams, who compiled an 11-5 record over two seasons.

The Sun Devils have made 16 NCAA Tournament appearances, including three Elite Eights (in 1961, 1963, 1975).

ASU has also won eight conference championships (four WAC, and four Border Conference), finishing in the final AP rankings seven times while producing 38 NBA Draft picks.

All eight conference titles came under Ned Wulk, who was hired in 1957 and took the Sun Devils to nine NCAA Tournament appearances and all three Elite Eights.

Former ASU coach Ned Wulk | Arizona State Athletics

Wulk was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 1980 and led Arizona State to its highest-ever national ranking at No. 3 in 1981. He posted a 406-272 in 25 years over three different conferences.

Bill Frieder was hired away from Michigan in 1989 after assembling and coaching the Fab-Five team that would go on to win a National Title without him.

Frieder took the Sun Devils to the postseason in his first six years, including two NCAA Tournaments. He resigned in 1997 following a point-shaving scandal with a record of 130-107.

Former ASU coach Bill Frieder | Associated Press

Herb Sendek coached ASU for nine seasons, from 2006 to 2015, recruiting James Harden, and taking the Sun Devils to the Big Dance twice, while compiling a record of 159-137.

Current coach Bobby Hurley, a former First-Team All-American at Duke, was hired in 2015 and received a contract extension in 2019 worth $2.5 million per year. His deal was extended for another two years in 2023.

Hurley gained notoriety in his first conference game by getting ejected after two technical fouls in 15 seconds for arguing with the officials against rival Arizona.

He led the Devils to three straight 20-plus-win seasons from 2017 to 2019, including two straight NCAA Tournaments in 2018 and 2019.

His ASU team went dancing again in 2022-23, after a two-year absence, losing in the First Round, and finishing the season with a 23-13 mark.

The 2023-24 season did not go as well. The Sun Devils finished with a 14-18 record, finishing 10th in the final Pac-12 standings, and missing the postseason.

Things won’t get any easier next year as Arizona State joins the Big 12, arguably the nation’s toughest men’s basketball conference.

Arizona State University (Tempe, AZ)

Desert Financial Arena

Current Coaching Staff
Current Head Coach: Bobby Hurley (2015-present)
Associate Head Coach: Jermaine Kimbrough (2021-present)
Assistant: Nick Irvin (2022-present)
Assistant: Yusuf Ali (2024-present)
Special Assistant to Head Coach: Greg Lansing (2024-present)
Director of Scouting Player Development: Justin McLean (2022-present)
Director of Basketball Operations: Mickey Mitchell (2022-present)
Player Personnel, Recruiting: Jarryn Skeete (2023-present)

Postseason Results
National Championships: 0
Final Four Appearances: 0
Elite Eight Appearances: 3 (1961, 1963, 1975)
Sweet Sixteen Appearances: 4 (1961, 1963, 1973, 1975) 
NCAA Tournament Appearances: 15 (1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1973, 1975, 1980, 1981, 1991, 2003, 2009, 2014, 2018, 2019, 2023)
NCAA Tournament Overall Record: 12-17 
NIT Championships: 0
NIT Appearances: 13 (1983, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2010, 2013, 2015)
NIT Overall Record: 7-13
NCIT Tournament Appearances: 1 (1974)
NCIT Overall Record: 0-1
NAIA Tournament Appearances: 2 (1948, 1953)
NAIA Overall Record: 2-2

Conference Titles (BIAA, WAC, Pac-12)
Pac-12 Regular Season Championships: 0
WAC Regular Season Championships: 4 (1963, 1964, 1973, 1975)
Border Regular Season Championships: 4 (1958, 1959, 1961, 1962)
Pac-12 Tournament Championships: 0

Annual Award Winners
Naismith Player of the Year: 0
John R. Wooden Award: 0
Oscar Robertson Trophy: 0
AP All-Americans: 3 (James Harden, 2009; Ike Diogu, 2005; Lionel Hollins, 1975)
Pac-12 Player of the Year: 3 (James Harden, 2009; Ike Diogu, 2005; Eddie House, 2000)
Arizona State Head Coaching Records

Bobby Hurley2015-Present155-131030
Herb Sendek2006-2015159-137020
Rob Evans1998-2006119-120010
Don Newman1997-199818-14000
Bill Frieder1989-1997131-105010
Bob Schermerhorn (int)19892-7000
Steve Patterson1985-198948-56000
Bob Weinhauer1982-198544-45000
Ned Wulk1957-1982406-272890
Bill Kajikawa1948-195789-132010
Rudy Lavik1933-1935
Earl Pomeroy1935-193944-51000
Ted Shipkey1930-193332-300
Aaron McCreary1923-193048-54
Ernest Willis1922-19238-4
George Cooper1917-192243-15
George Shaeffer1914-1915
G.W. Henry1913-19146-5
C.W. Adams1911-191311-5

—More from Staff—