Stanford Cardinal Men’s Basketball History Update

Since 1914, the Cardinal have won 13 conference titles and one NCAA championship

Posted on May 9, 2023

  By SuperWest Sports Staff

In this series of updates on the history of SuperWest Pac-12 men’s hoops program, we provide a brief coaching summary, a list of the current coaches, along with postseason results, conference titles, award winners, and all-time coaching records.

Stanford began varsity intercollegiate competition in men’s basketball in 1914. Since then, the Cardinal have won 13 conference championships and one NCAA championship.

The Cardinal has also been retroactively recognized as the pre-NCAA Tournament national champion for the 1936–37 season by the Premo-Porretta Power Poll and the Helms Athletic Foundation.

Stanford’s early coaching history includes a man with a name seemingly built for the Cardinal-Husky rivalry, E.P. Husky Hunt, who was hired in 1926.

But the program began to pick up steam in 1930 with the hiring of John Bunn, who led Stanford to three conference titles, compiling a record of 108-82.

Former Stanford coach John Bunn | Stanford Athletics

Everett Dean took the reins in 1938 and directed the Cardinal to their first and only NCAA title in 1942. He also coached the baseball team beginning in 1950, engineering a trip to the 1953 College World Series.

Dean is the only coach to have been inducted into both the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Howie Dallmar, a former Stanford player, coached the Cardinal men’s basketball team for 21 years with moderate success, finishing with a record of 256-264.

Mike Montgomery made the most indelible mark on the program’s history, earning four conference titles, and taking his teams to 12 NCAA Tournaments, including a Final Four appearance in 1998, the first in 56 years.

Former Stanford coach Mike Montgomery | Todd Warshaw/Allsport

Montgomery was voted the Pac-12 Coach of the Year four times (1999, 2000, 2003 & 2004), and was named the Naismith National Coach of the Year in 2000.

He won the John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004.

Jerod Haase, who earned a reputation at Kansas as a scrappy point guard and coached under Roy Williams at both Kansas and North Carolina, was hired in 2016.

Haase has compiled a record of 112-109 in his first seven seasons and has recruited several outstanding NBA prospects.

He coached the Cardinal to a disappointing 14-19 mark in 2022-23, missing the postseason for the fourth straight season.

Stanford University (Stanford, CA)

Maples Pavilion

Current Coaching Staff
Current Head Coach: Jerod Haase (2016-present)
Associate Head Coach:  Jesse Pruitt (2016-present)
Assistant:  Robert Ehsan (2021-present)
Assistant: Brandon Dunson (2022-present)
Assistant Athletic Director: David Berkun (2018-present)
Director of Player Development: Nate Britt (2021-present)
Assistant to the Head Coach: Jack Frost III (2019-present)

Postseason Results
National Championships: 1 (1942)
Final Four Appearances: 2 (1942, 1998)
Sweet Sixteen Appearances: 5 (1997, 1998, 2001, 2008, 2014)
NCAA Tournament Appearances: 17 (1942, 1989, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2014)
NCAA Tournament Overall Record: 23-16
NIT Championships: 3 (1991, 2012, 2015)
NIT Appearances: 9 (1988, 1990, 1991, 1994, 2006, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018)
NIT Overall Record: 19-6
CBI Appearances: 1 (2009)
CBI Overall Record: 2-1
Premo-Porretta National Championships: 2 (1937, 1942)
Helms Foundation National Championships: 2 (1937, 1942)

Conference Titles (PCC through Pac-12)
Pac-12 Regular Season Championships: 11 (1920, 1921, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1942, 1963, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004)
Pac-12 Tournament Championships: 1 (2004)

Annual Award Winners
Naismith Player of the Year: 0
John R. Wooden Award: 0
Oscar Robertson Trophy: 0
AP All-Americans: 8 (Brook Lopez, 2008; Josh Childress, 2004; Casey Jacobsen, 2002 & 2001; Mark Madsen, 2000; Brevin Knight, 1997; Adam Keefe, 1992; Todd Lichti, 1989)
Pac-12 Player of the Year: 1 (Josh Childress, 2004)

Stanford Head Coach Records

Jerod Haase2016-Present112-109000
Johnny Dawkins2008-2016156-115010
Trent Johnson2004-200880-48030
Mike Montgomery1986-2004393-1674120
Tom Davis1982-198658-59000
Dick DiBiaso1975-198270-118000
Howie Dallmar1954-1975256-264100
Robert Burnett1951-195438-36000
Everett Dean1938-1951167-120111
John Bunn1930-1938108-823--
E.P. Husky Hunt1926-193040-370--
Andrew Kerr1922-192642-180--
Eugene Van Gent1921-19228-70--
Walter Powell1920-192115-31--
Melbourne Evans1918-192021-61--
Russell Wilson1916-191819-120--
Squire Behrens1915-19162-9---
H.W. Maloney1913-191511-10---

—More from Staff—