All-Time Pac-12 Men’s Hoops Coaches of the Year

The John R. Wooden Coach of the Year, more commonly known as the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, is an annual college basketball award presented to the top men’s basketball coach in the Pac-12 Conference.

The winner is selected by Conference coaches, who are not allowed to vote for themselves. Former Arizona coach Lute Olson won the award a record seven times.

Once known simply as the Coach of the Year Award, it was renamed in John Wooden’s honor following his death in June 2010.

Wooden coached the UCLA Bruins for 27 years, winning a record 10 national championships, including seven straight. He retired in 1975, the year before the award began.

Dick DiBiaso of Stanford and George Raveling of Washington State were co-winners in the award’s inaugural year. Both schools finished in the lower half of the conference that year.

DiBiaso is the only coach to have received the award with a losing record. He was a first-year coach for the Cardinal with only one returning starter, and the team lost a number players to injury.

Since the conference expanded to 10 teams in 1978, the winner of the award has typically qualified for the NCAA Tournament.

Marv Harshman went 19–10 with Washington in 1981–82 and fellow Huskies coach Bob Bender finished 16–12 in 1995–96 when the schools landed in the National Invitation Tournament.

1990–91 winner Kelvin Sampson guided Washington State to a 16–12 record and did not compete in a postseason tournament.

Below you’ll find tables showing the winners of the award by year and by schoo.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year Winners by Year

2022-23Mick CroninUCLA
2021–22Tommy LloydArizona
2020–21Andy EnfieldUSC
2019–20Mick CroninUCLA
2018–19Mike HopkinsWashington
2017–18Mike HopkinsWashington
2016–17Sean MillerArizona
2015–16Dana AltmanOregon
2014–15Dana AltmanOregon
2013–14Sean MillerArizona
2012–13Dana AltmanOregon
2011–12Lorenzo RomarWashington
2010–11Sean MillerArizona
2009–10Herb SendekArizona State
2008–09Lorenzo RomarWashington
2007–08Trent JohnsonStanford
2006–07Tony BennettWashington State
2005–06Ben HowlandUCLA
2004–05Lorenzo RomarWashington
2003–04Mike MontgomeryStanford
2002–03Mike MontgomeryStanford
2002–03Lute OlsonArizona
2001–02Ernie KentOregon
2000–01Steve LavinUCLA
1999–2000Mike MontgomeryStanford
1998–99Mike MontgomeryStanford
1997–98Lute OlsonArizona
1996–97Ben BraunCalifornia
1995–96Bob BenderWashington
1994–95Jim HarrickUCLA
1993–94Lute OlsonArizona
1992–93Lute OlsonArizona
1991–92George RavelingUSC
1990–91Kelvin SampsonWashington State
1989–90Jim AndersonOregon State
1988–89Lute OlsonArizona
1988–89Ralph MillerOregon State
1987–88Lute OlsonArizona
1986–87Walt HazzardUCLA
1985–86Lute OlsonArizona
1984–85Stan MorrisonUSC
1983–84Marv HarshmanWashington
1982–83George RavelingWashington State
1981–82Marv HarshmanWashington
1980–81Ralph MillerOregon State
1979–80Ned WulkArizona State
1978–79Bob BoydUSC
1977–78Gary CunninghamUCLA
1976–77Dick HarterOregon
1975–76Dick DiBiasoStanford
1975–76George RavelingWashington State

Winners by School

Arizona 111986, 1988, 1989, 1993, 1994, 1998, 2003, 2011, 2014, 2017, 2022
Washington81982, 1984, 1996, 2005, 2009, 2012, 2018, 2019
UCLA 71978, 1987, 1995, 2001, 2006, 2020, 2023
Stanford 61976, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2008
Oregon 51977, 2002, 2013, 2015, 2016
USC41979, 1985, 1992, 2021
Washington State41976, 1983, 1991, 2007
Oregon State 31981, 1989, 1990
Arizona State 21980, 2010
California 11997
Colorado 0
Utah 0

—More from Staff—