Updated Top 50 in Total Career Yards per Play

Below you’ll find an updated list of the Top 50 Pac-12 football career leaders in Total Yards per Play through 2021 with rank, years played, and program.

Yards gained in bowl games are included in the totals. To be included, the athlete must have gained a minimum of 7,500 yards through the 2021 season.

Oregon’s Marcus Mariota (2012-2014) remains the all-time leader with an average of 8.7 yards per play, followed closely by Stanford’s Andrew Luck at 8.5.

USC’s Matt Leinart  (7.7) and Sam Darnold (7.7), and Stanford’s Kevin Hogan (7.5) round out the Top 5.

UCLA’s Dorian Thompson-Robinson moved up to 19th on the list last season, with a career average of 6.6.

USC leads with seven athletes on the list, which you can search and sort by player and program.

Here’s a breakdown by school:

1. USC, 7
2. ASU, 5
2. Oregon, 5
2. Stanford, 5
2. UCLA, 5
2. WSU, 5
6. OSU, 4
6. Washington, 4
8. Arizona, 3
8. Cal, 3
9. Colorado, 2
9. Utah, 2

Those of Colorado and Utah date back just 11 years to 2011, when they joined the Pac-12 in its latest expansion, while the players of Arizona and ASU date back to 1978.

1Marcus Mariota8.720122014Oregon
2Andrew Luck8.520092011Stanford
3Matt Leinart7.720032005USC
4Sam Darnold7.720152017USC
5Kevin Hogan7.520122015Stanford
6Khalil Tate7.420162019Arizona
7Justin Herbert7.320162019Oregon
8Cade McNown7.219951998UCLA
9Matt Barkley7.220092012USC
10Josh Rosen7.220152017UCLA
11Jake Browning7.120152018Washington
12Cody Kessler7.020122015USC
13Jared Goff7.020132015Cal
14Tyler Huntley6.820162019Utah
15Brett Hundley6.820122014UCLA
16Jim Plunkett6.719681970Stanford
17Taylor Kelly6.720112014ASU
18Jason Gesser6.619992002WSU
19Dorian Thompson-Robinson6.620182021UCLA
20Sean Mannion6.520112014OSU
21Alex Brink6.520042007WSU
22Nick Foles6.520072011Arizona
23Rudy Carpenter6.520052008ASU
24Manny Wilkins6.420152018ASU
25Jonathan Smith6.419982001OSU
26Keith Price6.420102013Washington
27Steven Montez6.420152019Colorado
28Bill Musgrave6.419871990Oregon
29Andrew Walter6.420012004ASU
30Carson Palmer6.419982002USC
31Steve Stenstrom6.319911994Stanford
32Kellen Clemens6.320022005Oregon
33Derek Anderson6.320012004OSU
34Rodney Peete6.319851988USC
35Connor Halliday6.220112014WSU
36Drew Olson6.220022005UCLA
37Luke Falk6.120142017WSU
38Willie Tuitama6.120052008Arizona
39Jake Plummer6.119931996ASU
40Rob Johnson6.119911994USC
41John Elway6.019791982Stanford
42Chase Garbers6.020182021Cal
43Cody Pickett6.019992003Washington
44Jake Locker6.020072010Washington
45Sefo Liufau6.020132016Colorado
46Travis Wilson5.920122015Utah
47Jack Thompson5.719751978WSU
48Danny ONeil5.619911994Oregon
49Troy Taylor5.519861989Cal
50Erik Wilhelm5.419851988OSU

—More from Staff—