Top 50 SuperWest Career Rushing Yards per Attempt Leaders

All-time leaders with their respective ranks, years played, school, and a breakdown by program

Posted on February 23, 2024

  By SuperWest Sports Staff

Here’s a list of the Top 50 (or so, due to ties) SuperWest Career Rushing Yards per Attempt Leaders, with a minimum of 300 carries, through 2023.

Yards gained in bowl games are included in the averages.

Among SuperWest players, San Diego State’s Rashaad Penny (2014-2017) leads the way with 7.5 yards per carry, followed by Cal’s Jahvid Best (2007-2009) and USC’s Reggie Bush (2003-2005) with 7.3

Oregon’s Bucky Irving broke into the list in 2023 at No. 29 with a 6.1-yard average, and Oregon State’s Damien Martinez joined the elite group at No. 35 at 6.1.

Oregon dominates the list with seven players, followed by USC with four and five other schools with three.

Below you’ll find a searchable, sortable table ranking career leaders with their rank, years played, and school, as well as a separate breakdown by program.

Top 50 SuperWest Career Rushing Yards per Attempt Leaders

1Rashaad Penny7.5San Diego State20142017
2Jahvid Best7.3California20072009
2Reggie Bush7.3USC20032005
4Tom Larscheid7.0Utah State19591961
5Jhurell Pressley6.9New Mexico20122015
5Ron Rivers6.9Fresno State19911993
5Colin Kaepernick6.9Nevada20072010
8Bryce Love6.8Stanford20152018
9Jeremiah Johnson6.7Oregon20052008
9Kermit Johnson6.7UCLA19711973
9Benny Malone6.7Arizona State19711973
9Kevin Lowe6.7Wyoming19811984
9Dee Dowis6.7Air Force19861989
14LaMichael James6.6Oregon20092011
14Marcus Mariota6.6Oregon20122014
14J.J. Arrington6.6California20032004
14Marshawn Lynch6.6California20042006
14Kerwynn Williams6.6Utah State20092012
14Teriyon Gipson6.6New Mexico20132016
20Trung Canidate6.5Arizona19961999
20Fred Henry6.5New Mexico19701972
20Vai Taua6.5Nevada20072010
23Dabby Dawson6.4Wyoming19881989
23Tyler Allgeier6.4BYU20182021
23J.J. Flannigan6.4Colorado19871989
24Joe McKnight6.4USC20072009
27Travis Sims6.3Hawaii19891992
27Rashaan Salaam6.3Colorado19921994
29Bucky Irving6.2Oregon20212023
29Christian McCaffrey6.2Stanford20142016
29Woody Green6.2Arizona State19711973
29Khalil Tate6.2Arizona20162019
29Kenjon Barner6.2Oregon20092012
29Kevin McDougal6.2Colorado State19961999
35Byron Marshall6.1Oregon20122015
35Ryan Mathews6.1Fresno State20072009
35Ronald Jones6.1USC20152017
35Damien Martinez6.1Oregon State20222023
39Donnel Pumphrey6.0San Diego State20132016
39Wendell Tyler6.0UCLA19731976
39Michael Morton6.0UNLV19781981
39Joe Williams6.0Utah20152016
39Travis Dye6.0USC20182022
39Luke Staley6.0BYU19992001
39Marshall Faulk6.0San Diego State19911993
39Myron Hardeman6.0Wyoming19771978
39Greg Johnson6.0Air Force19861989
39Lampford Mark6.0Nevada20082011
49Royce Freeman5.9Oregon20142017

Breakdown by Program

Boise State5
Oregon State4
Arizona State3
Fresno State3
New Mexico3
San Diego State2
Utah State2
Colorado State1

—More from Staff—