All-Time Pac-12 Football Defensive Players of the Year

All winners of the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year award since its inception in 1983

Posted on December 8, 2023

  By Staff, SuperWest Sports

Here are all of the Pac-12 Football Defensive Player of the Year Award winners as selected by a vote of the coaches from its inception in 1983 through 2023.

Pac-12Arizona’s Ricky Hunley and California’s Ron Rivera tied for the first award and UCLA’s Laiatu Latu earned the last award in the final year of the Conference.

From 1975 to 1982, the Conference did not distinguish between Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, simply choosing one overall Player of the Year.

Below you’ll also find a table listing award counts by program with the most recent year won.

All-Time Pac-12 Defensive Players of the Year

2023Laiatu LatuUCLA
2022Tuli TuipulotuUSC
2021Devin LloydUtah
2020Talanoa HufangaUSC
2019Evan WeaverCalifornia
2018Ben Burr-KirvenWashington
2017Vita VeaWashington
2016Adoree JacksonUSC
2015Deforest BucknerOregon
2014Scooby Wright IIIArizona
2013Will SuttonArizona State
2012Will SuttonArizona State
2011Mychal KendricksCalifornia
2010Stephen PaeaOregon State
2009Brian PriceUCLA
2008Rey MaualugaUSC
2007Sedrick EllisUSC
2006Daymeion HughesCalifornia
2005Dale Robinson (tie)Arizona State
2005Haloti Ngata (tie)Oregon
2004Shaun Cody (tie)USC
2004Bill Swancutt (tie)Oregon State
2003Dave BallUCLA
2002Terrell SuggsArizona State
2001Robert ThomasUCLA
2000Adam ArchuletaArizona State
1999Deltha O’NealCalifornia
1998Chris ClaiborneUSC
1997Pat TillmanArizona State
1996Jason ChorakWashington
1995Tedy BruschiArizona
1994Mark FieldsWashington State
1993Rob WaldropArizona
1992Dave HoffmannWashington
1991Steve EmtmanWashington
1990Darryl Lewis (tie)Arizona
1990Steve Emtman (tie)Washington
1989Junior SeauUSC
1988Dana WellsArizona
1987Chuck CecilArizona
1986Byron EvansArizona
1985Mark WalenUCLA
1984Duane BickettUSC
1983Ricky Hunley (tie)Arizona
1983Ron Rivera (tie)California

Breakdown of Winners by Program

ProgramWinnersLast Won
Arizona State62013
Oregon State22010
Washington State11994

[See our all-time list of the Pac-12 Offensively Player of the Year as well.]

—More from Staff—