All-Time Mountain West Football Coach of the Year Awards

All winners since the beginning of the Conference in 1999 through the 2023 season

Posted on April 23, 2024

  By SuperWest Sports Staff

Here are all of the Mountain West football Coach of the Year Award winners as selected by a vote of their fellow coaches from 1999 through 2023.

Below are tables listing award counts by program with the most recent year won and the multiple winners with the counts and the years.

Colorado State’s Sonny Lubick captured the first award and UNLV’s Barry Od0m earned the award last season.

[You may also be interested in All-Time Pac-12 Football Coach of the Year Awards]

All-Time Mountain West Coach of the Year Award Winners

2023Barry OdomUNLV950
2022Andy AvalosBoise State1040
2021Brady HokeSan Diego State1220
2020Brent BrennanSan Jose State710
2019Nick RolovichHawaii1050
2018Matt WellsUtah State1020
2017Jeff TedfordFresno State1040
2016Craig BohlWyoming860
2015Rocky LongSan Diego State1130
2014Jim McElwainColorado State1020
2013Matt WellsUtah State950
2012Rocky LongSan Diego State940
2011Dave ChristensenWyoming850
2010Brady HokeSan Diego State940
2009Gary PattersonTCU1210
2008Kyle WhittinghamUtah1300
2007Troy CalhounAir Force940
2006Bronco MendenhallBrigham Young1120
2005Gary PattersonTCU1110
2004Urban MeyerUtah1200
2003Urban MeyerUtah1020
2002Rocky LongNew Mexico770
2001Gary CrowtonBrigham Young1220
2000Sonny Lubick (tie)Colorado State1020
2000John Robinson (tie)UNLV850
1999Sonny LubickColorado State840

Breakdown by Program with Most Recent

ProgramWinnersMost Recent
San Diego State42021
Colorado State32014
Utah State22018
Air Force12007
Boise State12022
Fresno State12017
New Mexico12002
San Jose State12020

Multiple Winners

CoachProgram(s)Times WonYears
Rocky LongSan Diego State, New Mexico
32002, 2012, 2015
Brady HokeSan Diego State22010, 2021
Urban MeyerUtah22003, 2004
Sonny LubickColorado State21999, 2000

—More from Staff—