Affiliate Disclosure This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through them, we may earn a commission.

USC Trojans Men’s Basketball History Update

USC has produced 25 All-Americans, 14 league championships, and a conference tourney title

In this series of updates on the history of SuperWest men’s ho0ps programs, we provide a brief coaching summary, and a list of the current coaches, along with postseason results, conference titles, award winners, and all-time coaching records.

USC began playing intercollegiate basketball in 1906. Since then, the Trojans have produced 25 All-Americans, 14 league championships, and a conference tournament title.

Along the way, the Men of Troy have made 16 NCAA tournament appearances, five Sweet 16 appearances, four Elite Eight appearances, and two Final Four appearances.

USC’s basketball success began with the hiring Sam Barry in 1929. Barry compiled a record of 260-138, winning three conference titles and guiding the Trojans to their first trip to the NCAA Tournament.

The hiring of Barry’s assistant Forrest Twogood in 1950 took USC to the next level. Twogood won two conference championships and logged three NCAA Tournament appearances, including a Final Four in 1954.

Former USC coach Forrest Twogood | USC Athletics

After stepping down in 1966, Twogood became an assistant athletic director at USC. The Heritage Hall Auditorium is named in his honor.

George Raveling came to USC from Iowa in 1986, having previously coached at Washington State, and took the Trojans to two NCAA Tournaments despite an overall losing record in Los Angeles. He retired in 1994 after a serious automobile accident.

Henry Bibby was hired in 1996. He orchestrated three NCAA Tournament appearances, including an Elite Eight in 2001.

Former USC head coach Henry Bibby | Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

After an unsuccessful string of four other coaches, Andy Endfield signed a six-year $6 million contract with USC in 2013, putting the Trojans back on a winning path.

Enfield took the Trojans to five NCAA Tournaments, including the Elite Eight for only the second time in school history in 2021, earning him Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors that season.

He made a return trip to the Big Dance in 2022-23 after posting a 22-11 record, losing in the First Round. In 2023-24, despite a stellar recruiting class, Enfield’s Trojans went 15-18, missing the postseason.

He left USC after the season, having compiled a record of 220-146, to become the head coach at SMU.

Arkansas coach Eric Musselman was hired as Enfield’s replacement on April 4, 2024, after taking the Razorbacks to two Elite Eights and a Sweet 16, leaving Fayetteville with a 111-59 record.

University of Southern California (Los Angeles, CA)

Galen Center

Current Coaching Staff
Head Coach: Eric Musselman (2024-present)
Staff: TBA

Postseason Results
National Championships: 0
Final Four Appearances: 2 (1940, 1954)
Elite Eight Appearances: 4 (1940, 1954, 2001, 2021)
Sweet Sixteen Appearances: 5 (1954, 1961, 2001, 2007, 2021)
NCAA Tournament Appearances: 21 (1940, 1954, 1960, 1961, 1979, 1982, 1985, 1991, 1992, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2007, 2008*, 2009, 2011, 2016, 2017, 2021, 2022, 2023)
NCAA Tournament Overall Record: 17-23*
NIT Championships: 0
NIT Appearances: 5 (1973, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2018)
NIT Overall Record: 3-5
Helms Foundation National Championships: 1 (1940)
PCC/Pac-12 Regular-Season Championships: 7 (1928, 1930, 1935, 1940, 1954, 1961, 1985)
Pac-12 Tournament Championships: 1 (2009)

Annual Award Winners
Naismith Player of the Year: 0
John R. Wooden Award: 0
Oscar Robertson Trophy: 0
AP All-Americans: 8 (Evan Mobley-2021; Sam Clancy-2001; Harold Miner-1992; Gus Williams-1975; Paul Westphal-1971; John Rudometkin-1962 & 1961; Bill Sharman-1950)
Pac-12 Player of the Year: 4 (Evan Mobley-2021; Sam Clancy-2002; Harold Miner-1992; Wayne Carlander-1984)

USC Head Coach Records

Eric Musselman2024-present0-0000
Andy Enfield2013-2024220-146050
Bob Cantu (int)20137-8000
Kevin O'Neill2009-201348-65010
Tim Floyd**2005-200964-49020
Jim Saia (int)2004-200510-15000
Henry Bibby1996-2004134-118030
Charles Parker1994-199619-29000
George Raveling1986-1994115-118020
Stan Morrison1979-1986103-95120
Bob Boyd1966-1979216-131010
Forrest Twogood1950-1966252-178230
Sam Barry1929-1941
Bobby Muth1943-194517-17000
Ernie Holbrook1942-194329-9000
Julie Bescos1941-194212-8000
Leo Calland1927-192938-101
Les Turner1922-192748-360
Bill Hunter1921-19227-50
Elmer Henderson1919-192118-6
Motts Blair1916-1917
Dean Cromwell1917-19180-2
Ralph Glaze1914-19168-21
J.S. Robson1910-1911
Walter Hall1911-19129-5
Emli Breitkreutz1906-19076-5

* Listed records and accomplishments include wins or appearances later vacated by the NCAA.

—More from Staff—