Mountain West Football Championship Game History

The Boise State Broncos lead with four titles followed by the Fresno State Bulldogs with three

Posted on May 10, 2024

  By SuperWest Sports Staff

From 1999 to 2012, the champion of the Mountain West was determined by regular season record.

Following the expansion into twelve members and the conference splitting into two divisions in 2013, the Championship Game was held between the division winners.

The inaugural MW Championship Game was played on December 7 of that year at Fresno State’s Bulldog Stadium and was won by the home team.

However, the 2022 championship game was the last to feature division winners.

The MW eliminated its football divisions beginning with the 2023 season, opting instead to match the top two teams in the conference standings in the title game.

That 2023 contest featured Boise State and UNLV, with the visiting Broncos prevailing.

The Mountain West Conference champion customarily receives a berth to play in the Las Vegas Bowl.

If it finishes ranked ahead of the champions from the other “Group of Five” conferences it makes the College Football Playoff.

The table below shows winners by year with runner-up, scores, site, and offensive and defensive MVPs.

You’ll also find a breakdown by program with total title games played in, wins, losses, percentage, championship years, and runners-up years.

Boise State leads the Conference with seven Championship Game appearances, winning four, and Fresno State ranks second with five appearances and three titles.

Mountain West Championship Games

YearChampionPtsRunner-UpPtsSiteOff MVPDef MVP
2023Boise State44UNLV20Las Vegas, NVTaylen Green, BSUAlexander Teubner, BSU
2022Fresno state28Boise State16Boise, IDJake Haener, FSUCam Lockridge, FSU
2021Utah State46San Diego State13Carson, CALogan Boner, USUByron Vaughns, USU
2020San Jose State34Boise State20Las Vegas, NVNick Starkel, SJSUCade Hall, SJSU
2019Boise State31Hawai'i10Boise, IDJaylen Henderson, BSUSonatane Lui, BSU
2018Fresno State19Boise State16Boise, IDAlexander Mattison, BSUMykal Walker, FSU
2017Boise State17Fresno State14Boise, IDBrett Rypien, BSULeighton Vander Esch, BSU
2016San Diego State27Wyoming24Laramie, WYRashaad Penny, SDSUDamontae Kazee, SDSU
2015San Diego State27Air Force24San Diego, CAChristian Chapman, SDSUNa'im McGee, SDSU
2014Boise State28Fresno State14Boise, IDGrant Hedrick, BSUTanner Vallejo, BSU
2013Fresno State24Utah State17Fresno, CADerek Carr, FSUDerron Smith, FSU

Breakdown by Program

7Boise State43.5712023, 2019, 2017, 20142022, 2020, 2018
5Fresno State32.6002022, 2018, 20132017, 2014
3San Diego State21.6672016, 20152021
2Utah State11.50020212013
1San Jose State101.002020
1Air Force01.0002015

—More from Staff—